About us

Executive Committee


Professor Nigel Ratcliffe
Keele University

Nigel was elected Chair of the Pharmacy Schools Council in January 2017. Until October 1st 2018 Nigel was Professor of Pharmacy and Head of the School of Pharmacy at Keele University. Having completed six years as Head of School Nigel is now Emeritus Professor of Pharmacy at Keele. Nigel is a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, Royal Society of Biology,the Chartered Institute of Management and The Organisation for Professionals in Regulatory Affairs. Nigel was previously Chair of the Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent NHS partnership Trust and has also been Chair of the Nursing and Midwifery Councils Appointments Board. Nigel has been a pharmacist for 36 years, during which he has practised in community and hospital pharmacy but was principally employed within Research, Development and Strategic Partnering within the global pharmaceutical Industry. Nigel is currently an Assembly Member of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society.

Deputy Chair

Professor Marcus Rattray
The University of Bradford

Marcus is Professor of Pharmacology and Head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of Bradford. He is Trustee and member of, the European Society for Neurochemistry, Board member of the International Drug Abuse Research Society and Editorial Board member of the Journal of Drug and Alcohol Research Editorial and Frontiers in Experimental Pharmacology.

Professor Don Cairns

Robert Gordon University

Don is the Head of School of Pharmacy and Life Sciences at the Robert Gordon University. He is a member of several professional bodies, including the Royal Pharmaceutical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Academy of Pharmaceutical Scientists, and is Vice chair of Expert Advisory Group of Medicinal Chemicals. In 2006 he was appointed to the British Pharmacopoeia Commission and serves on an Expert Advisory Group of the Commission on Human Medicines

Professor Tony D’Emanuele

DeMontfort University

Tony is Professor of Pharmaceutics and Head of the De Montfort School of Pharmacy. He is a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry. Tony has been Chairman of the UK-Ireland Controlled Release Society and European representative Member of Executive Committee of the Pharmacy Information Section, International Pharmaceutical Federation.

Professor Clive Roberts

University of Nottingham

Clive is the Head of the School of Pharmacy at the University of Nottingham. He is Chair of Pharmaceutical Nanotechnology and was previously Director of the University of Nottingham Nanotechnology and Nanoscience Centre. He was also the founder of eminate Ltd, a company which rapidly translated products to the market including the multi-award-winning salt reduction product, SodaLo and Molecular Profiles Ltd, now Juniper Pharmaceuticals a successful company developing therapeutics that address unmet medical needs in women’s health.